cream of tartar

Last Updated on August 27, 2023

Is cream of tartar vegan? This is a question that many people have, especially those who are interested in following a vegan lifestyle.

cream of tartar

Cream of tartar is a powder common ingredient in baking and desserts, and it has a number of benefits, including making baked goods more fluffy. Keep reading to find out more!

Cream of tartar- What is it?

a spoonful of white powder

It is a white powdery substance, often used in baking, and many people think it’s a key ingredient in making meringue.

But what exactly is cream of tartar?


It is actually a byproduct of wine production.

When wine is made, grape juice is fermented with yeast. This fermentation process produces a lot of sediment, which settles at the bottom of the barrels.

The sediment is then collected and dried to form a cream of tartar.

Uses of cream of tartar

This white powdery substance has a variety of uses, including:
1. As a leavening agent in baking;
2. to stabilize the protein for meringues and other desserts;
3. to add creaminess and body to soups and sauces.

tanghulu candid strawberries on a stick
We used cream of tartar in our Tanghulu as a white vinegar replacement.

Cream of tartar is also great for cleaning coffee pots, removing stains from clothing, and polishing metal surfaces.

So next time you’re in the kitchen or laundry room, reach for the cream of tartar!

Is cream of tartar vegan?

So you might be wondering, is cream of tartar vegan? The short answer is yes, most are vegan on the market, but there are some exceptions.

See, cream of tartar is actually a byproduct of wine production. When wine is made, the grapes are crushed and the juice is fermented.

During this process, a substance called potassium bitartrate forms on the sides of the fermentation vessel. This substance is then collected and sold as cream of tartar.

wine production


Now, whether or not cream of tartar is vegan depends on how it was produced.

If it came from a winery that used animal-based products in its wine-making process, then it would not be considered vegan.

However, if it came from a winery that only used plant-based products, then it would be considered vegan.

Our favorite Products

Many brands are vegan-friendly. Here are a few of our favorites:


Bob’s Red Mill: This brand is a favorite among vegans for its wide selection of vegan-friendly products. The company’s cream of tartar is made from grapes grown in California.

Frontier Co-op: Another great option for vegans, Frontier Co-op’s cream of tartar is made from organic grapes.

King Arthur Flour: A trusted name in the baking world, King Arthur Flour’s cream of tartar is also vegan.

In case you’re wondering how long the cream of tartar will last once opened? Feel free to check this article: Does cream of tartar go bad?

Alternatives to the cream of tartar

There are many vegan substitutes for the cream of tartar. You can use lemon juice, white vinegar, or baking soda.

Just add one teaspoon of any of these ingredients to replace one tablespoon of cream of tartar.

baking

Final thoughts on the cream of tartar

In conclusion, most cream of tartar products on the market are vegan!

This delicious baking ingredient is perfect for any vegan baker. So next time you’re in the mood for some baking, be sure to grab some cream of tartar.

my profile

Do you find “Is cream of tartar vegan?” helpful? If you like to see more content like this, please let me know by leaving a comment below.

Is This Vegan?

Sign Up to Joyful Dumplings!

Subscribe to our mailing list and join our community!

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Thanks for Your Feedback!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *