Last Updated on August 27, 2023
Are ramen noodles gluten free and vegan?
In this article, we dive into whether ramen noodles are a part of the gluten-free and vegan family? And how best to use them.
Are Ramen Noodles Gluten-Free?
Traditional ramen noodles consist of wheat or egg and are thin and rectangular.
Gluten is natural in wheat products such as wheat noodles, rice, and wheat flour.
The gluten present in traditional ramen noodles helps give it a chewy taste. And it prevents the noodles themselves from sticking together.
Today’s ramen uses wheat noodles and gluten-free noodles.
Browsing the shelves of your local grocery store you will see several gluten-free ramen noodles.
Items like vegan ramen noodles and instant ramen noodles are in popular demand!
Ramen broth, which is often flavored with soy sauce, can also contain gluten. Use gluten-free soy sauce when flavoring your broth.
Is Ramen Vegan?
Ramen noodles are a beloved staple food with millions of different ways to enjoy them. Is ramen vegan?
Well, it depends on the recipe you are following. Many Asian ramen recipes use fresh egg noodles or rice noodles.
Other recipes around the world use shirataki noodles, soba noodles, brown rice noodles, and udon noodles.
Besides the ramen noodle itself, you also have to pay attention to the ramen recipe toppings.
Traditional ramen toppings are egg, pork, nori, animal fat, seeds, and chicken. This is a problem for those with Celiac disease or who have gluten-free diet restrictions.
However, many alternative ramen ingredients fit the vegetarian and celiac lifestyle.
So, don’t forget to check the labels before purchasing products. When dining out, ask the chef if the food you’re ordering is vegan.
Do Ramen Noodles Go Bad?
Certain brands of ramen noodles do go bad. Ramen noodle alternatives that use plant-based ingredients like brown rice noodles tend to expire quicker and have a shorter shelf life.
Expired ramen noodles, especially gluten-free ramen are lackluster in taste and quickly turn off eaters with the smell and texture.
Rice ramen, like Lotus Foods Millet Brown Rice or Brown Rice Ramen, tends to last longer and is the best gluten-free noodle to keep on hand.
Brown rice is shelf stable and will last months in an air-tight, temperature-controlled atmosphere.
Vegetable noodles, on the other hand, don’t have the same shelf life and tend to spoil quickly.
That is why I recommend specialty gluten-free noodles like vegetable noodles to be used close to their purchase date. They are not enjoyable after sitting for a few weeks.
4 Vegan Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles Brands
There are hundreds of gluten-free ramen noodles brands and it’s hard to mention them all!
However, the best gluten-free noodles for beginners are from brands like Lotus Foods, Big Green Organic Food, Thai Kitchen, and Better Than Noodles.
All four of these brands are easy to find online and at the local grocery store and are easy to work with.
Plus, many of these brands have multiple flavors of gluten-free ramen noodles making it fun to switch up and enjoy ramen at home.
And for those who love instant ramen noodles, brands like Lotus Foods and Thai Kitchen have multiple instant ramen flavors- cup noodles included!
If you’re looking for gluten-free ramen alternatives besides vegetable noodles and soba noodles, try Miso Ramen and Shirataki Ramen!
Miso Ramen uses Chinese Chukamen noodles, which are wheat-based. You can easily substitute it for brown rice noodles!
The ‘miso’ is the broth of the ramen and uses vegetables and protein in its stock. It’s extremely hearty and filling and topped with spinach, onions, mushrooms, and eggs!
Shirataki Ramen noodles are made of brown rice and are a bit spicy. Seasonings such as hot sauce and pepper are used alongside bok choy, mushrooms, and tomatoes.
Shirataki Ramen is also keto-friendly due to the low carb count which is perfect for days when you are feeling more than hungry.
With your vegan gluten-free noodles and broth, add your choice of toppings and enjoy!
Is This Vegan?
- Are Tortillas Vegan? Explained
- Are Tootsie rolls vegan?
- Is Italian Dressing Vegan?
- Is cream of tartar vegan?
- Is Tapioca Vegan?
- Is Olive Oil Vegan?
- Is Jello vegan?
- Is Molasses Vegan?
- Is Soy Sauce Vegan?
- Is Jif Peanut Butter Vegan?
Sign Up to Joyful Dumplings!
Subscribe to our mailing list and join our community!
Thank you for subscribing.
Something went wrong.